Carnegie Library has a new tenant.
Madison design firm Zebradog moved to a new location at 1249 Williamson St. from its previous office for the past 20 years in the historic Jackman Building on the Capitol Square at 111 S. Hamilton St. Before receiving Zebradog the building was home to Yahara Builders, LLC who restored the building with living space on the second floor and office space on the first. You can view the images here in the portfolio.
The firm’s new home is the former Sixth Ward Carnegie Library, which opened almost 100 years ago on March 25, 1913. It was one of 1,681 public libraries built in the U.S. between 1896 and 1919 with funding from Andrew Carnegie.
The library moved in 1958, and the building became the home of the Norwegian singers’ group The Greig Club from the early 1960s through 2000.
The building was designed by Claude & Starck in the simplified Collegiate Gothic style and features a barrel-vaulted reading room on the main floor and a lecture room in the lower level.
Founded by Madison native Mark Schmitz, Zebradog employs 17 designers who help clients visually incorporate their brands into their office space. Company projects include the Kohl Center, Lambeau Field, Miller Brewing Co., Camp Randall and Duke University’s basketball museum.
Wonderfully unique 1913 Carnegie library that has been renovated with architectural guidance & in a historically sensitive manner. One of a kind residential unit up & professionally planned office space down. The building is right next to the Willy St Co-op.